About Baltimore Legacy

The Baltimore Legacy Chapter, Association of Black Social Workers, is an affiliate chapter of the National Association of Black Social Workers, Inc. We are a collective body of people of African ancestry, committed to unifying, empowering, and enhancing the quality of life for the Black community of the greater Baltimore area, through advocacy, service, professional development, and fellowship. 

The mission of the National Association of Black Social Workers is to create a world in which people of African ancestry will live free from racial domination, economic exploitation, and cultural oppression. 

During the late 1960s, the Civil Rights, Black Consciousness, and the Black Social Work movements converged in the struggle for Black liberation. Black social workers organized across the country in major cities to address racism, poverty, the need for self determination and empowerment of the Black family and community. The National Association of Black Social Workers (NABSW) was created on May 8, 1968 in San Francisco, California, by a group of Black Social Workers who were convened for the National Conference on Social Welfare, the largest professional social work organization at the time.  This group of Black Social Workers disengaged from that meeting to provide leadership and “a more consistent basis for unified action.” Actions were targeted at local, state, national, and international levels.

NABSW’s vision is guided by the Principles of the Nguzo Saba, which are Unity, Self-determination, Collective Work and Responsibility, Cooperative Economics, Purpose, Creativity, and Faith, and the Seven Cardinal Virtues of Ma’at, which are Right, Truth, Justice, Order, Reciprocity, Balance, and Harmony.


Chapter Leadership



Amanda Morgan-Henry, LCSW-C

Director of Field Education, MSW Program

Chamberlain University


Christa Gilliam, PhD, MSW

Assistant Professor

Coppin State University, Department of Social Work


Cortney Merritt, MSW

Administrative Coordinator, MSU School of Social Work


Sapphire Boone, PhD, LCSW

Director, Title IV-E Public Child Welfare Program

Morgan State University, School of Social Work


Corey Fraction, MSW

Social Worker, SILA Program

Baltimore City Department of Social Services

Committee Chairs


Desiree Israel, LCSW-C


Sheranda Dildy, LBSW

Nancy Webb Larkins, LCSW-C




Jade Nesbitt, LMSW


Bobby "Marvin" Holmes, LMSW


History of Baltimore Legacy Chapter

The Resurgence of a Chapter in Baltimore

In 2017, a group of faculty at the Morgan State University School of Social Work harnessed collective interest to reactivate a community chapter for Baltimore.  The name 'Baltimore Legacy' was selected to rebrand the chapter in homage to the original purpose of the organization -- to honor the legacy of the original social activists who started it all. 

The Baltimore Legacy Founding Members are:

Sharlene Allen, PhD, LCSW-C

Paul Archibald, PhD

Sandra Austin, PhD

Terrence Brower

Sapphire Boone, PhD, LCSW

Sandra Chipungu, PhD

Kevin Daniels, PhD

Linda Darrell, PhD, LCSW-C

Anthony Estreet, PhD, LCSW-C

Christa Gilliam, PhD

Jermel Gilliam, LMSW

Nashey Ingram, LCSW-C

Nia Johnson, LMSW

Nicole Jones

Nancy Larkins, LMSW

Melissa Littlefield, PhD

Zev Mahnke

Denise McLane-Davison, PhD

Anna McPhatter, PhD

Amanda Morgan-Henry, LCSW-C 

Roslyn Pearson, LCSW-C

Tonya Phillips, PhD, LCSW-C

Margaret Pittman, PhD

Thelma Peterson Rich, LCSW

Regina Sims-Alston, LMSW

Samara Stone, LCSW-C

Rhonda Wells-Wilbon, PhD, LCSW-C

Dana Burdnell Wilson, PhD, LCSW

(Pictured above - Founding officers from L-to-R: Paul Archibald, Sapphire Boone, Nia Johnson, Anthony Estreet).

Harambee Circle

"Harambee" is a Swahili term meaning "all pull together"  Traditionally, NABSW meetings and gatherings typically end with the group holding hands in a  circle, shouting "Harambee!" 7 times while raising collective hands. 

The Harambee Circle is comprised of members who invest $100 (inclusive of their annual membership dues) with goal of "pulling together" 

resources to ensure 

Baltimore Legacy can thrive. 

We honor their commitment by acknowledging their steadfastness to the ideals of the Baltimore Legacy  Chapter & NABSW. 

The Harambee Circle members are: 

Paul Archibald, PhD

Sapphire Boone, PhD, LCSW

Octavia Brown

Kevin Daniels, PhD

Anthony Estreet, PhD, LCSW-C

Christa Gilliam, PhD

NaShey Ingram, LCSW-C

Rosemary Irving

Nia Johnson, LMSW

Nia Jones

Melissa Littlefield, PhD

Natalie McCabe

Denise McLane-Davison, PhD

Amanda Morgan-Henry, LCSW-C

Cherelle Robertson

Darryl Robinson 

Regina Sims-Alston, LMSW

Nancy Webb-Larkins

Dana Burdnell Wilson, PhD, LCSW